Birchbox January 2014 Go Time Box

A New Years box from Birchbox with the theme “Go Time”.

20140112-141947.jpg

The insert.

20140112-142003.jpg

With the 2014 color, Orchid, tissue paper and a sticker…

20140112-142039.jpg
I love the orchid for color of the year!

First look at everything.

20140112-142112.jpg

Loving the mint pillow box, which as always grabs my attention first.

20140112-142136.jpg

The first item in the pillow box is a mini quad sampler from Coastal Scents, it’s a baby portion of their new Revealed Eye Shadow Palette that sells for $34. “With these versatile nude and metallic shadows in your beauty arsenal, you’re all set. Sweep preferred hue over lids for day. Layer shadows for a more dramatic night look.” The packaging is pretty cute!

20140112-142344.jpg

Next in the pillow box, tucked away, is this perfume sample from Juicy Couture, Couture La La. Full size ranges from $70-$90. “Tart notes of green apple and red currant add an edge to feminine lily and orange blossom. Spritz onto wrists, neck, or other pulse points.”” I didn’t pack much perfume, just two roller balls to make traveling easy, so I will keep this in my purse for days I forget perfume and go out.

20140112-142527.jpg

Yet another dry shampoo, this is a travel size with a spray nozzle from Klorane. A Gentle Dry Shampoo with Oat Milk, full size $18. “Award-winning editor fave that absorbs grease and revives second-day hair. Shake can. Spray 10 inches from roots. Wait 2 minutes, massage into hair, and brush through.” I like that this has oatmeal, I’m still afraid to jump on the dry shampoo bandwagon though. lol Give me your feedback, thoughts, and advice with this please! Especially if you have sensitive skin or eczema like me.

20140112-142906.jpg

I was excited to learn about Nail Rock and get a full sized velvet polish in blue from them! They are normally $6.99 each, which is not bad at all. It comes with a dark blue polish that I am not sure if it is matte, but I am guessing it is, and a mini pot container of velvet powder. Other textures vary from glitter, matte velvet and caviar. “The UK brand’s two-step system for a luxely textured mani with a matte finish. Use two coats of polish. Dip wet nails into velvet dust and let dry 20 minutes.” I’ll post photos when I use this kit!

20140112-143517.jpg
Here’s a better photo of it from the Birchbox website it’s listed on.

20140112-145129.jpg

This month we also got a Birchbox find alert product! “Inside this month’s box is a Birchbox Find, a mass-market discovery we’ve come across that we think is awesome. Don’t worry — these products are in addition to your usual samples, never in place of them.” I really like this Burt’s Bees Intense Hydration day lotion with clary sage. It smells divine, perfectly lightly scented, and the lotion feels light but absorbs into the skin very well. The box came with a small glass container of it, enough for probably a month depending on how much you use. I have such sensitive skin that I am using it as a hand cream because I don’t want to risk the reaction if it’s not compatible with my skin. I recently thought I’d give the Trader Joe’s brand face cleanser a try but after two uses of it my skin started reacting badly. I am very much addicted to the clary sage scent of this lotion though!! They also included a $3 off coupon with the sample!

20140112-144036.jpg

Also included as another bonus are these cute postcards.

20140112-144116.jpg

I really enjoyed this box, and feel they really up-ed the quality of what type of products I’m getting that I feel are tailored to me.

Leave a Reply

