Nature Box December 2013

I had a promo to redeem a free box, and might’ve paid $1 or so for shipping but thought I’d try out Nature Box and see how it compares to my Love With Food. It’s normally $19.95/month for 5 full sized packages of deliciously wholesome healthy snacks.

20131214-152954.jpg

They included some holiday gift tags that are adorable, and will get used! Here is the first look at the box also.

20131214-153040.jpg

The insert includes brief descriptions of each snack and a recipe.

20131214-153128.jpg

20131214-153132.jpg

It’s pretty heavy and full with snacks. I’m thinking these will be good for the plane ride, it’ll be two flights and almost 8 hours so I’m sure we’ll get snacking on these.

20131214-153255.jpg

I received:
-Praline Pumpkin Seeds (these sound delicious) – “Pumpkin pie-spiced and everything nice, these seeds are the holiday season in a crispy bite.”
-Acai Berry Crunch (hubby and I love acai berries) – “Sweet rolled oats and dried cranberries and acai berries are perfect with your favorite cup of tea.”
-Oat Bran Dippin’ Stix – “At your holiday party, serve these Dippin’ Stix with sweet almond butter or savory ranch dressing.” I’m more partial to ranch so I am definitely going to try these with some ranch!
-Citrus Chipotle Chickpeas – “Snack smarter with these zesty and smoky dry-roasted chickpeas.” It looks like a healthier grown up version of Corn Nuts and looks like a great snack.
-Dark Cocoa Almonds (yum!) – “Hearty and coated in dark chocolate, these almonds will be your new go-to comfort snack.” I love dark chocolate and almonds so I’m sure I’ll enjoy these.

The recipe they shared for dark cocoa almond butter in case you’re interested is:
Ingredients:
-1 cup NatureBox Dark Cocoa Almonds
-1 pinch sea salt
-1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

Directions:
Add Dark Cocoa Almonds to a food processor and process until thick and creamy, about 12-15 minutes. Scrape down the sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula as needed, about every 5 minutes. Add sea salt and extra virgin olive oil and blend once again to incorporate. Store in a mason jar in the fridge up to 2 weeks. Yields about 4 servings.

We don’t have a food processor so I won’t be trying this, but would love to hear if you made this using similar ingredients! I liked this box but I did cancel, because even though I appreciate healthy snacks I also want some sweets and treats in my box like I do with Love With Food. Plus it’s great that Love With Food donates a meal to a hungry child for every box shipped every month. I will definitely enjoy these snacks on the plane with my husband though!

20131214-154105.jpg

Leave a Reply

