Treatsie November 2013 Box

I signed up for only one month of Treatsie to see what it’s like after viewing a few You Tube reviews and having the occasional sweets craving myself. It is a monthly subscription for sweet candies and treats for $15/month. For a few sweet treats that is a unnecessary box subscription for myself, which is why I cancelled since I still have my Love With Food deluxe box that gives me a good mix of healthy snacks and sweet treats. It was a fun trial though and the box is cute and I’ll be keeping it to maybe store some of my Indie polishes since my baby collection is starting to grow! It arrived in this bubble envelope with a big bright “Perishable” sticker on it.

20131121-143650.jpg

Inside was this small box for such a big envelope! It has shrink wrap around the box.

20131121-143728.jpg

Removing the wrap and lid there was this cute pink insert explaining how to enjoy the treats to the fullest with their online website and product descriptions.

20131121-143813.jpg

Next you see some light peachy pink tissue paper with a cute “T” sticker. I put this sticker on the box lid to add to the cuteness of the label and it’s too adorable to waste for a sticker fanatic like myself!

20131121-143850.jpg

First look.

20131121-143916.jpg

First thing I noticed are the bunch of lollipops with interesting flavor names made by Das Foods. I copied and pasted the quoted product descriptions from Treatsie.com since there weren’t any descriptions on the insert. First flavor is “a pomegranate and orange lolli that tastes good and is good for you. It’s a sweet and tangy fusion of heart-healthy real pomegranate extract and fragrant orange oil with tiny pieces of orange zest.” Next “maple and bacon lollipop from Das Foods is a fiercely delicious combination of real smoky bacon bits and delicious maple syrup giving all at once savory and sweet sensation. The perfect combination for those who have a sweet tooth and a bacon tooth.” Third up “caramel and lavender lollipop is made with caramelized cane sugar and indulgent chewy Das Caramelini Salted caramel mixed with real lavender extract and tiny crystals of Fleur De Sel sea salt for a trendy, delicious sweet and salty treat.” Obviously I can’t try this one since i’m allergic to lavender :/. Last flavor is Ginger & Lemon, “it is sweet, tangy and tantalizingly spicy all at once! Small bits of candied ginger are complemented by lemon that tickles the mouth and can help soothe an upset stomach. This is an all time favorite of moms to be!”

20131121-144212.jpg
To be honest I’m not one to enjoy lollipops so I’m not sure if I’ll eat these but they’ll make cute gift additions or stocking stuffers.

I’ve never had macaroons so I don’t have any to compare these too but there are 4 Danny Macaroons, grain free, small batch, and super delicious is on the front of the box. Flavors come in one of each :
Salted Caramel – “Super delicious coconut macaroons topped with house-made salted caramel.”
Chocolate Banana Nut – “These banana-hazelnut macaroons are dipped in dark chocolate and topped with chopped toasted walnuts.”
Spiced Pumpkin – “Pumpkin pie in macaroon form. Danny Macaroons takes pure pumpkin, combines it with some cinnamon and nutmeg, whips it up into a macaroon with some toasted pumpkin seeds folded in for a little jazz. It’s a seasonal pumpkin treat that’s sure to delight fans pumpkin fans everywhere.”
Black Chocolate Stout – “Probably the most complex macaroon you’ll ever have. Danny Macaroons starts with Brooklyn Brewery’s Black Chocolate Stout, reduces it down to a thick syrup, then mixes it up with some super secret ingredients to make a macaroon that’s slightly less sweet but packed with some pretty ridiculous flavor. This is one of the best macaroons they make – try some today!”
Pretty unique flavors, I’m thinking about enjoying these with a hot cup of tea and sharing them with my husband.

20131121-144718.jpg
So after having them with hot tea, my husband definitely doesn’t like these and I don’t either. It’s literally big coconut flakes compacted together to shape them into a round shape. I was under the impression macaroons are like little cake confections but these are straight coconut. As much as I like coconut, I can’t stand coconut flakes and the texture so I nibbled a bite of each to taste each flavor at least but tossed the rest. The black chocolate stout was good and had a smokey almost Guiness like taste, the chocolate banana but was decent. Salted caramel was good and spiced pumpkin I had to force myself to finish I didn’t like the flavor. The coconut flakes are so overpowering compared to each flavor so it was hard to eat, even with tea. I’ve still got to try some decent macaroons. :/

Last is probably what caught my eye second, after the macaroons, a Sea is for Caramel by Sweeteeth dark chocolate bar. Simple ingredients include 65% dark chocolate, sugar, heavy cream, glucose, butter, vanilla bean, fleur de sel. That’s it! There’s yummy gooey caramel in the picture online so that looks promising. Online the product description reads “65% dark chocolate encases a smooth, rich caramel, finished off with a light sprinkling of sea salt for the perfect sweet and salty indulgence. Featured in Southern Living and Garden & Gun magazines, this bar is Sweeteeth’s most popular.” Yum!

20131121-144925.jpg

Not a bad box at all, I just don’t feel I should be spending $15 a month on sweets when my Love with Food usually includes at least one sweet item for me a month, and I have a ton of other boxes that won’t disappear into my tummy. I try to stick to at least one edible treats box, but Treatsie certainly was a nice treat. I’m excited to try macaroons for the first time and hopefully they’re close to the real thing so I get an accurate first taste!

Leave a Reply

