Love With Food Scary Delicious October 2013

In honor of Halloween, Love With Food chose the theme “Scary Delicious”! A fun theme indeed! I’m already excited about what’s inside 😃.

20131016-135946.jpg

The insert description reads “The month of October is her and with it come the scary goblins, ghosts and ghouls. Oh my! Be sure to cozy up and share your Love With Food box and keep one eye for trick or treaters!”

20131016-140011.jpg
The snacks.

20131016-140022.jpg

These inserts were also included, I was excited about the coupon for a complimentary Lean Cuisine Honestly Good Entree 10-11oz.

20131016-140245.jpg

I actually snacked on these Chocolate Pizzelle Chips from Silk City Snacks the same evening the box arrived. I would’ve liked them to be a bit sweeter than they were, they were almost mildly bitter, with only a hint of light sweetness upon first bite when it touches your tongue.

20131016-140150.jpg

I don’t really chew gum, I prefer mints, but I did give this Glee Gum a try. It is Triple Berry flavored and from Verve Inc.

20131016-140821.jpg

These New World Caveman Cookies by Caveman Bakery are too cute! They’re raw, unbaked cookies with healthy ingredients like pumpkin seeds and maple syrup.

20131016-140913.jpg

Healthy candy? Yes please! Organic Hard Candies from Torie & Howard made with all natural fruit flavors. I received one d’anjou pear & cinnamon and two blood orange & honey. I tried the blood orange & honey and it was very citrus-y and the fruit flavor was very refreshing, with a mild sweet honey flavor. It was definitely more tart and fruity than sweet, which was nice. The pear & cinnamon literally tastes like some cinnamon sprinkled on a freshly sliced piece of pear, I’m in fruit heaven! It’s not sweet at all like you’d expect a hard candy to be like, rather a fresh fruit experience sprinkled with cinnamon and locked into a little tasty portable candy.

20131016-141123.jpg

Pixo Pearls from Vinaigerie Gingras. The whole website is in another language so I wasn’t able to get any recipe ideas like advertised on the package. I did find an amazon review from a Love With Food subscriber suggesting it on crackers with some goat cheese or sprinkled on a salad. I also found a picture of it on a toasted slice of a baguette topped with mozzarella, olive oil, tomato, and some of these pearls. I might try it with goat cheese on crackers since I have that on hand. I’m thinking topping some salami on there will be delicious too!

20131016-141425.jpg

Happy Squeeze from Happy Family, is a convenient pouch with organic superfoods on it and is the equivalent of 1/2 a cup of fruit.

20131016-142935.jpg

I received these Toasted Coconut Chips from Dang in a previous box sub and really enjoyed them, and my Bubba loves them as a treat too since he is already a coconut fanatic like me. Everyday he gets a small amount of extra virgin organic coconut oil after I moisturize with it (post shower) and these are lightly sweet, perfectly crispy and crunchy and I love the natural coconut flavor it has.

20131016-143402.jpg

Kind Bar from Kind Snacks Fruit & Nut Delight looks very healthy with simple ingredients.

20131016-143514.jpg

Overall, as usual, the box didn’t disappoint at all. I have plenty of snack time cravings and these are sure to satisfy them all! Here is a photo of my snack I made with the Pixo Pearls. The vinegar taste is mild and not over powering, actually more like a pickle flavor which makes sense since pickles are made with vinegar but it actually is a nice snack.

20131016-145717.jpg

3 thoughts on “Love With Food Scary Delicious October 2013

  1. Hi,

    Vinaigrerie Gingras, the maker of Pixo Pearls, is having a Facebook contest for a basket of products valued at approximately $75 CAD. We would love it if you would share it with your community. As an added note, sharing the contest from Facebook could garner you additional entries. Contest is open to both American and Canadian residents at least 18 years of age and ends December 1st,2013 at midnight. Thanks for reviewing our product in the October Love with Food box and Good Luck!
    https://www.facebook.com/gingrasvinegar/app_143103275748075

    btw, I loved your recipe and shared it on our Facebook page 🙂

Leave a Reply

