Birchbox Finishing School August 2013

This is an extra post for today to catch up on a few August box reviews I’m behind on!

This was a pretty exciting box and might be one of my favorites! I recently changed my profile survey to be geared towards natural and organic products, no perfume samples if possible and this was the turnout! The reveal, inside the fancy new Birchbox box.

20130814-163151.jpg

The insert with the theme and product information. Front photo.

20130814-163305.jpg
Back photo.

20130814-163317.jpg

Time to open!!

20130814-163548.jpg

I was pretty excited about this Dreams Nail Lacquer D’s Calcium Base Coat. I’ve been in need of a base coat and need any nail strengthening benefits I can get! This one is a mini but full size is $9.50. “This calcium-enriched base strengthens nails, fills uneven ridges, and prevents discoloration.”

20130814-163529.jpg

For keeping clean feet and hands they included these Jasmine Seven Fresh Feet Wipes, two packets were provided but full size is $25.95. “Alcohol-free towelettes that cleanse and soften with vitamin E, peppermint, and aloe.”

20130814-164346.jpg

Next is a favorite brand of mine, Juice Beauty, I already own quite a few of their products and only put their skincare products on my face. The product they provided is a Juice Beauty Green Apple Peel Sensitive deluxe sample size, full size is $39. “An amazingly effective (and gentle!) peel with fruit-derived acids to dissolve dead skin.” They used to sell this size on their website for, I believe, $5 but I checked their website today and couldn’t find it so maybe they stopped and only give it out with box subscriptions. This product works great and I’m happy to get the sensitive skin one since that’s exactly what I have! Thanks for listening to the Birchbox staff!

20130814-174733.jpg
I currently use the Antioxidant Serum, and Nourishing Moisturizer in the evening, and recently started using the Alicia Silverstone for Juice Beauty Simply Pure chamomile cleanser and Simply Nourishing Moisturizer. I trust Juice Beauty and have never had problems with their skincare or makeup reacting badly with my skin.

20130814-180905.jpg

Next “a semi-matte lipstick that delivers both hydration and lasting pigment.” I’ve gotten a ModelCo lip gloss, and lipstick/lip gloss double ended duo product from Glossybox and have been very impressed with the quality of this Australian brand’s lip products. I’ve got no doubts about this ModelCo Party Proof Lipstick that normally comes in a set of 3 for $24. I received the shade called Kitty, a lovely blush pink nude that compliments my natural lip shade perfectly!

20130814-180854.jpg
Below is the photo of my lip color in full size on their website that goes for $16.95. It’s “a semi-matte lipstick that delivers both hydration and long lasting pigment.”

20130814-181059.jpg

The lifestyle extra gift item is a set of Assorted Teas from Ahmad Tea London, full size $7-$16. “Worthy of a posh high tea spread, these British blends are made from the highest-quality ingredients.” I received two black teas in flavors Peach & Passion Fruit, and Early Grey.

20130814-181748.jpg

Tucked in at the bottom was a foldout of inserts with styling tips.

20130814-181853.jpg

This was definitely one of their great boxes.

20130814-181911.jpg

Leave a Reply

