Recycled gift basket ideas!

I think I’m going to start a new tradition where I don’t blog every weekend, so I can spend time with my family and focus on them and then can blog all about the lovely details come Monday!

Now this isn’t a permanent set in stone type of thing but I don’t want the Internet or my phone running my life and it is starting to with all I have to do on my phone and how busy I’ve been lately but I am in no way complaining. I love being busy, enjoy what I do, and that I’m able to do what I need to all on my iPhone ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

With that said I hope everyone is having a nice start to their weekend even if its almost over, still enjoy today and relax! Christmas is coming up so quickly! I have almost all of my gifts wrapped up but am still adding to them (ribbon & mesh wrap) I just LOVE wrapping gifts, making them look boutique-ish and giving. I tend to get over generous with gifts lol I can’t help it I love it ๐Ÿ’—๐ŸŽ

I wanted to share something creative, that you might already be aware of, which is recycling boxes you receive by using them as the base gift box for a gift basket! Pictured below here, I used my My Cotton Bunny box. If you are into beauty box subscriptions, or something of the like, then you should have plenty of perfect sized boxes this Christmas!

20121209-152633.jpg

For photos, since I already wrapped the box pictured above, I am wrapping another gift for a family member. So those will be the additional photos used to demonstrate each step! I hope you enjoy and are able to make affordable gifts looking extravagant and uniquely made, and even boutique bought! ๐Ÿ˜‰ And it’ll be our little secret.

First you’ll need a few things to make your own home made gift box/basket!

๐Ÿ’ŽFirst things first. You’ll need a box preferably the size where everything you have will fit nicely without being over stuffed or under filled!

20121209-152710.jpg

Next of course the basic materials:
๐Ÿ’Žscissors

20121209-152745.jpg

๐Ÿ’Žgift wrapping tape

20121209-152809.jpg

๐Ÿ’Žgift wrap paper to go with your theme. (Love Costco’s huge roll’s!)

20121209-153719.jpg

๐Ÿ’ŽA cellophane roll and/or mesh wrap roll. I ran out of cellophane so I used mesh wrap for a country hand crafted feel!

20121209-153839.jpg

๐Ÿ’Žcurling ribbon

20121209-153924.jpg

๐Ÿ’Ža nice fancy ribbon (pictured underneath curling ribbon) to make a bow with (or cheat and buy a pre made bow if you’re low on time or doing this last minute!). I got mine at Costco since their rolls are huge! I also bought some metallic fringed ribbon for a bright pop in red and green mix from Sam’s Club on sale for under $4.

20121209-153950.jpg

๐Ÿ’Žcrinkle paper or tissue paper to fill the box

20121209-154020.jpg

๐Ÿ’ŽConfetti. The EcoEmi crinkle paper had snowflakes and stars confetti mixed in so I kept them the way they are for a fun surprise. You could even spray it with a winter themed fragrance for them to get a lovely whiff of when opening their gift basket! You’ll see it in later photos.

So bring everything you need onto the floor or a table. I always end up sitting on the carpet like a kid with all my fun gift wrap stash around me!

For the gifts I will be putting in this gift basket a small flat rate priority box is the perfect size.

20121209-154255.jpg

What I did first is, cut the lid portion flap off with scissors…

20121209-154328.jpg

Then the side wings, I don’t need these!

20121209-154400.jpg

Then tape the other parts and wrapped the rest in a wrapping paper that will match my boutique handmade theme and cellophane wrap. I didn’t have a specific technique since any imperfections are easily covered up with the cellophane!

20121209-154455.jpg

Next I used the crinkle recycled paper from my EcoEmi November’s Bonus box for $29.99 that came with SO many incredible edibles and goodies! I stored mine in clear baggies until I needed it.

20121209-154536.jpg
I love crinkle paper, they make homemade gift baskets look so much more put together and show lots of thought put into it!

After the crinkle paper is ready, place the gift items in strategically so that some are visible and some hidden so if they peak they don’t know everything they’re getting! You also want to make sure the taller items are in the back and smaller/shorter in front so that things are easier displayed and seen. Think of how they do it in boutiques, department stores, or what you see when you go shopping like hickory farm’s gift sets you see everywhere this time of year! Since the confetti is already mixed in the crinkle paper for me it’s got added surprise sparkle!

20121209-154617.jpg
Wrap some gifts in cute drawstring recycled bags, organza bags, wrapping paper, or just add a cute bow on them! Here are a few of my variations mixed for this basket!

Then comes the cellophane paper or mesh wrap, heck you could even use both! In fact I’ll include photos for both types of baskets! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ ๐Ÿ’Œ

Cut enough for the basket, put more cellophane toward the front than the back of the box since the front is where everything should be clear and visible. It’s harder to see through the crinkled parts of cellophane than the flat so we want the main front goodies displayed clearly! Gather it all at the top and tie with one or two curling ribbon colors, tie in a bow and curl the ends.

20121209-154918.jpg

Now for the home made bow, I don’t know the proper bow making ways, so this is my method that works for me. I’ll probably work on my bow making skills in the future though. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ I want to apologize in advance if it sounds at all complicated, please feel free to message me with questions!

I made up my own rigged way of making ribbons, I was taught the proper way but couldn’t remember and was too lazy to go on you tube and search a tutorial lol

Soo Next, cut the fancy ribbon, tie it in a knot at the middle.

20121209-155121.jpg

Make the 2 loop (like a tied bow๐ŸŽ€<;–)

20121209-155147.jpg

Pull it under the knotted ribbon (without pulling your loop under)…

20121209-155216.jpg

20121209-155226.jpg

…and repeat until you have just enough to hang.

20121209-155258.jpg
Tie at the bottom in a knot where it will be hidden.

Then tape the hanging ribbon near the base where it will be hidden.

20121209-155430.jpg
Wrap the loose part around your finger and wrap the rest so the metal wire will retain the curl.

20121209-155445.jpg
Repeat for the other side! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

You could also keep it simple and still beautiful with a simple bow and curl the ends the same way.

After that you could make your own gift tag if you’re trying to save money! You can really make it stand out with home made gift tags, I used:

๐Ÿ’ŽLeftover brown paper inside the end of my cellophane roll, or any recycled paper you have. Cut into 2″X2″ or 3″X3″ squares.

20121209-175628.jpg

๐Ÿ’ŽHoliday shaped hole punchers

20121209-175721.jpg

๐Ÿ’ŽCrafty Stamps!

20121209-175744.jpg

20121209-175758.jpg

๐Ÿ’ŽAn ink pad

20121209-175825.jpg

Here are the pictured steps and final results!

Start with your squares…

20121209-182355.jpg

Shape the edges into whatever pattern you want, I did a waved design and then punched a shaped hole into the corner of the tag…

20121209-182314.jpg

With green and red ruffle ribbon twisted together, candy cane style as the tag holder and since they’re metal wire inside I shape it into a heart on the gift! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

20121209-182207.jpg

Front…

20121209-175900.jpg

Back…

20121209-175931.jpg
I cut the frames, with regular scissors, into a wavy outter edge!

Final look of the basket!

20121209-182919.jpg

And photos of other types of bows and cellophane wrapped baskets ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

20121209-183040.jpg

20121209-183049.jpg

Here is my glossy box wrapped with the pretty satin bow and like candy!

20121209-192354.jpg

The point is, you can do this with materials you may have at home or can easily be bought at a good price depending where you shop! It’s a easy way to personalize gifts, and make someone feel extra special.

Once I’m living at our next stationed location in Omaha, Nebraska I’ll have more time for everything. Which is why years down the road I am interested in creating my own crafts and home made gift items for sale as a hobby or even start my own subscription box. Gift wrapping items, boutiques, and subscription boxes are an obsession and passion of mine. I will just need to be ready and have a steady fan base established by then, which is what I’m working on now. I’m also enjoying getting the hang of blogging, gathering more PRIZE ideas, and fun stuff!

I’d love feedback on if you think this is something you’d be interested in subscribing to. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ It’s just an idea right now but definitely something I am wanting to do. If you also have your own designs I’d be more than welcome to hear your ideas!

My inspiration is the Love Club box subscription, be sure to check them out! Read my review on their November box and check out the lovely “Power of One” turquoise and rhinestone bead bracelet! ๐ŸŽ€Gorgeous!๐ŸŽ€ Hand crafted items from individuals or small businesses that are still elegant and lovely! They’re a wonderful inspiration to me.

20121209-183148.jpg
“G’night y’all!”

4 thoughts on “Recycled gift basket ideas!

Leave a Reply

